The Board

Board Members

J Gordon Reid Q.C., F.C.I.Arb

J Gordon Reid graduated from Edinburgh University in 1974, became a solicitor in 1976, advocate in 1980 and took silk in 1993. He is a member of Terra Firma Chambers. He is also a member of the English Bar and has had a door tenancy at Atkin Chambers, Gray’s Inn, London since 1991. He has been a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators since 1994. He has experience in many areas of civil and commercial litigation particularly commercial property disputes including building and engineering disputes, and commercial and agricultural landlord and tenant disputes.

He was a part time Chairman of the former VAT and Duties Tribunal and a Deputy Special Commissioner between 1997 and 2009. Since 2009 he has held part-time appointments as a Deputy Judge of the First-tier Tribunal (Tax Chamber) and as a Deputy Judge of the Upper Tribunal (Tax and Chancery Chamber). He has been a Temporary Judge of the Court of Session since 2002 and a panel Arbitrator under the Motor Insurers' Bureau Scheme since 2003. He also acts as an arbitrator from time to time and has been instructed to act as expert in several disputes resolved by expert determination. He may be contacted at

Kenneth Campbell Q.C.

Kenneth Campbell was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in 1996. Prior to that he practised as a litigation solicitor with a large Edinburgh law firm for 4 years. He took silk in 2011. He has appeared in courts at all levels across Scotland, and has experience of cases in a range of areas of civil work. He has conducted a wide variety of contract and property disputes, personal injuries and professional negligence cases. He regularly appears in public law cases, both before a range of statutory tribunals and in the Court of Session, which is the superior civil court in Scotland. He became a CEDR accredited mediator in 2006. He may be contacted at

David Parratt, Advocate

David has a keen interest in international commercial arbitration and has practical experience of various forms of alternative dispute resolution including arbitration, adjudication and mediation. He is a CEDR Accredited mediator. He is also a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (F.C.I.Arb), and a Chartered Arbitrator. He has been admitted as arbitrator member of a number of international arbitral panels and is an Honorary Lecturer in International Commercial Arbitration in the University of Dundee and in International Arbitration and Construction Law in the British University in Dubai.

He was called to the English Bar (Lincoln's Inn) and is a practising member of Crown Office Chambers, Temple, London. He has advised and acted as counsel in international arbitrations all over the world. He has also been appointed to act as an arbitrator. He is the co-author of The Scottish Arbitration Handbook (2011, Avizandum Publishing). David was appointed as the Faculty of Advocates’ Director of Training and Education in 2012. He may be contacted at

Ruth Crawford, Q.C

Ruth was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in 1993. She was Second Standing Junior Counsel to the Scottish Ministers between 2000 and 2008. During that period, Ruth represented the Scottish Ministers in all types of commercial, administrative and public law disputes. Since taking silk in 2008, Ruth has acted for the UK and Scottish Governments, local authorities, public utility companies, public bodies, and for private organisations and individuals. She has particular experience in public procurement and planning law. Ruth has appeared in the Supreme Court, the High Court of Justiciary, the Court of Session and the Sheriff Court. She has also appeared in the Land Court and Tribunal, as well as in the Upper Tier Tribunal. Ruth has acted as amicus curiae on several occasions. Ruth has provided independent expert opinions to assist parties and the Court on points of law.

Ruth is a curator of the Advocates Library, a member of the Faculty’s Board of Assessors and is appointed to the panel of prosecuting counsel in respect of the Faculty’s Disciplinary Rules. She is also on the panel of counsel for the Equality and Human Rights Commission. Ruth may be contacted at

Stephen O'Rourke

Jonathan Broome

Denis Garrity